ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR THE REGULATION AND CONTROL OF WATER WELL CONTRACTORS (DRILLERS) IN LOUISIANA

Meeting Summary Wednesday, November 18, 2015 12:00 P.M.

Prepared by:

The Department of Natural Resources

Office of Conservation

Environmental Division Staff

Advisory Committee members in attendance:

Commissioner of Conservation, designee – John Adams
Commissioner of Conservation, Driller at Large – Scott Bergeron
Driller, Louisiana Ground Water Association – Herschel Bourque
Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources, designee – Patrick Courreges
Secretary of the Department of Health & Hospitals, designee – Johan Forsman
Commissioner of Conservation, Driller at Large – Gary P. Hill
Louisiana Ground Water Association, Municipal & Industrial Driller – Harold Leleux
President of the Louisiana Engineering Society, designee – Roy A. Waggenspack

Call to Order

Harold Leleux, Chairman of the Advisory Committee, called the meeting to order at 12:02 p.m. with welcoming remarks. The Roll was called and a quorum was established.

Review of New Applicants for Louisiana Driller's License

- 1. The application for Thomas Gasmann of Earth Tech was reviewed by the committee. Scott Bergeron made the motion to accept the application and to take the test; seconded by Roy Waggenspack. The motion passed unanimously.
- 2. The application for Jason Cadwallader of Holly Water Well Service was reviewed by the committee. Gary Hill made the motion to accept the application; seconded by Herschel Bourque. The motion passed unanimously.
- 3. The application for Keith Paskell of Fred Paskell Jr. Water Wells was reviewed by the committee. Herschel Bourque made the motion to accept the application; seconded by Roy Waggenspack. The motion passed unanimously.
- 4. The application for John Paskell of Fred Paskell Jr. Water Wells was reviewed by the committee. Scott Bergeron made the motion to accept the application; seconded by Herschel Bourque. The motion passed unanimously.
- 5. The application for Shaun Grell of J&S Water Wells was reviewed by the committee. Roy Waggenspack made the motion to accept the application; seconded by Gary Hill. The motion passed unanimously.
- 6. The application for Monte Richardson of J&S Water Wells was reviewed by the committee. Gary Hill made the motion to accept the application; seconded by Roy Waggenspack. The motion passed unanimously.

Adoption of the August 12, 2015 Meeting Summary

John Adams made the motion to accept the meeting summary; seconded by Herschel Bourque. The motion passed unanimously.

Current Events Update

Robert Frischhertz informed the board of a fraudulent document submitted with a driller's application and requested the committee's opinion on the matter. Gary Hill informed the

committee of the continuing education session for the Louisiana Ground Water Association (LGWA) on Wednesday, January 6, 2016 in Marksville. The committee requested to resume receiving notifications at their quarterly meetings of individual drillers who transfer companies. There was discussion on the number of active water well drillers licensed in Louisiana. The number of prior notifications and water well registrations being received was also discussed, as well as the frequency of violations that are assessed.

Election of Officers for 2016

Herschel Bourque made the motion to nominate Roy Waggenspack for Chairman; seconded by John Adams. The motion passed unanimously. John Adams made the motion to nominate Scott Bergeron for Vice-Chairman; seconded by Herschel Bourque. The motion passed unanimously.

Public Comments

Krishna Patel, an LSU researcher, had questions regarding water well drillers working in areas of saltwater encroachment. John Adams noted the role of the committee was to examine water well driller qualifications for potential licensure only, as required by the state.

Date for the Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Advisory Committee is scheduled for **Wednesday**, **February 10**, **2016** at 12:00 p.m. in the Griffon Room on the 1st floor of the LaSalle Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

Adjourn

There being no other business before the Advisory Committee, Herschel Bourque made the motion to adjourn; seconded by John Adams. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 12:48 p.m.